Misconceptions #bookreview

I received a book as a part of the BookLook Bloggers network and was immediately intrigued by the notion of looking at God through Hebraic eyes.

Well, 4 pages into the book I was disappointed with the writing and the content of the author. There is so much cliche’ and hyperbole in this book and it left a ton to be desired.

There were many instances of where I thought that the author was actually incorrect in his facts and interpretations. He is rooted in a ton of traditions but his writing seems to dictate that there is no room for different viewpoints.

Now, I do understand that Reider is coming from a good place of His love for God and his desire for people to have a better understanding of God’s impact in our lives. But this book left my high and dry below my expectations. This is a good book for his first attempt and if people are looking for different viewpoints then this would be a good look into someone else’s mindset. But if you have a desire to see Biblical exegesis tied into the works of God then I would pass on this book.

On a scale of 1-5, I give this book 1 star.

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

Leave a Reply

