How to Survive a Shipwreck by @theboyonthebike #bookreview

ship·wreck
ˈSHipˌrek/
noun
  1. 1.
    the destruction of a ship at sea by sinking or breaking up, e.g., in a storm or after running aground.

This review will not be long because I do not want to take away from what an amazing book that I am about to recommend to you.

 

With honest transparency, Martin spins a tale of how when circumstances arise, that we may be the cause of, we can find our peace and wholeness again. I’ve been broken many times in my life and have always seemed to miss the fact that love was there the whole time. Martin weaves his own personal experience with God’s unfailing promise to care for us into a masterful work that will be a great companion to the Spirit that Martin speaks of.

This book left me with a sense of healing that I haven’t found in many places.

That first portion of the definition really sticks out…..”destruction”. I am currently in a bit of a shipwreck season right now and this book has come along at the perfectly appointed time. Every word written in this book has spoken to me during a time where I have finally understood Paul’s words in Acts 27:22:

But now I urge you to keep up your courage, because not one of you will be lost; only the ship will be destroyed.

Leave a Reply

