All I Want for Christmas


Do you remember that one gift that you opened on Christmas morning that absolutely blew your mind? I mean REALLY made you go insane with excitement? Whether it was a new bike, the latest Barbie, or the Nintendo Entertainment System (I’m an 80’s baby), that gift truly made you scream with excitement. As I have mentioned before in a previous blog post, I grew up in poverty and that meant that some years, Christmas presents weren’t all that great. You know, socks, clothes, school supplies, or candy; to a youngster, this was not the ideal gift list. So, when I did get a good gift, I was ecstatic. And to this day I LOVE LOVE LOVE to get gifts. You could say that it’s my love language.
But what happens when a guy who loves gifts (me) starts thinking up ways to impact a village without a school (Gadi)? Well, he comes up with this idea. This year for Christmas, instead of receiving gifts from friends and family, I want for EVERYONE that I know to give to the Village Schoolhouse Project.
I have always felt so warm when I was able to give an amazing gift to someone else. I guess I give love, like I receive love.
Why would I, the lover of gifts, give up receiving gifts this year? The answer is quite profound actually. I am not giving up receiving gifts. I am just shifting my view on what a true gift is. The definition of gift is “a thing given willingly to someone without payment”. Did you catch that? Willingly.
Please be a willing participant in helping a young person in Malawi to have the opportunity to break the cycle of poverty and to eventually change the world.
I am a firm believer that education is the one true equalizer in the world. I once read the following statement:
“Education is one of the most powerful instruments for reducing poverty and inequality and lays a foundation for sustained economic growth”.
So this Christmas season, will you be a part of helping to give the most amazing gift to a child in Malawi? The gift of an education.
Now, I want you to think back to that thought of that incredible gift that you once received. How unbelievable would it be for a young person in the Gadi village to “open up” the gift of news that they will have a school to attend? You think you loved your gift? Think about their excitement with this news.
You can click here for the opportunity to give me the gift of giving a child an opportunity.

Leave a Reply

