My Best Friend’s Funeral

book

Every once in a while a book comes along that is so filled with emotion and connection for me that I tend to spend more time sobbing than I do reflecting. And this is one of those books. My Best Friend’s Funeral: A Memoir” by Roger Thompson is a compelling true life account of a couple of friends who met while they were young and went through every facet of life together. The amazing thing about this book is that I identified with both of the lives of the two main characters, Roger and Tim. I found myself in both of them. Thompson’s ability to draw the reader into the emotions that he was feeling during awkward adolescent years, to his father’s addictions, and finally in the eulogy of his best friend, is incredible. When i finished reading this book, I was left with a desire for three things: 1) to grab my best friends and tell them how much I love them 2) set out on a journey of living a life of making moments and not living in fear, and lastly 3) to one day have someone speak about me with such love. My Best Friend’s Funeral” is a moving story, full of pain but also redemption and hope. And that hope is what made this book so amazing. I am telling you. Get this book. Read it, soak in it, then just go and be!

I give this book a 10 out of 5 stars! (Yes, you read that right). Go buy it!

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

