My confession to @nishweiseth about women authors #speak

SpeakConfession and vulnerability: I have only read 2 books in my life that were authored by women. To tell you the truth, I don’t know why it was this way. Maybe it was because I didn’t think that there were things in common that I would understand. I have thought about the misogynistic culture that I was raised in (outside of the church and inside of it too) or how at times I lost respect for my mother (which has been resolved and I love her so much). I don’t have the exact answer but I do know that when I received Nish’s book, Speak, I wasn’t exactly excited. i picked it up because I have always believed that a person’s story is the most powerful agent for change in a sad world.  So, I gave her a try. And I can say in all honestly, I am sorry. Sorry for not giving female authors a chance, sorry for being closed off, and mostly sorry for missing out on all the wonder that different voices can possess. This book was excellent.

Weiseth came with a solid formula that many authors neglect:

Show the problem

Present the solution

Define the Outcome

The stories that Nish weaved were dramatic, funny, heart filled, and poignant. She came with a mission and a vision, and she nailed those goals. A small line from the book is all the teaser that you will need:

Build bridges. Advocate for good. Make disciples. Proclaim God’s kingdom. Share your story.

I highly recommend this book for anyone in one of the following categories:

1) People who have a story to share and know that it’s impact will help other people. (You really should)

2) People who think that their story isn’t powerful enough to help make a change for anyone else. (It really will)

3) People who don’t think that they have a story. (You really do)

I think you should read this book (I really do)

And to Nish, thanks for helping me break my stereotype about female authors. Well done.

I give it a 5 out of 5 stars.

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

