1,779 days ago, a moment was made. Thanks for the nudge @loswhit #momentmaker

So, 1,779 days ago, I decided to start writing a blog. I am not necessarily good at it ( and I am not just saying that to get encouragement. I just think I could spend a little more time refining this craft), but it is a good release for me creatively. And as this is my 100th blog post, which means that I have posted 25 times per year for 4 years. I can do better. But this is not about what I need to improve on to become a better write but this is more about what this blog has meant to me.

As I mentioned already, it has been a release for me. A kind of therapy. So if there is one thing that this blog has been, it has been therapeutic. It has also been a place for me to share about the things that I find important. Whether it is supporting and endorsing the efforts of nonprofits that are catalysts for change in this world, or if it was my fascination with a new restaurant or a sports team, I believe that that mission was accomplished.

But most of my blog posts of late have been about book reviews. i have found myself as a part of group of book review bloggers, via Booklook Bloggers, that has been fun. They send me a book, I read it, then I tell you how it went.

loswhit

Well, the latest book and the dedication to my 100th bog post is the book, Moment Maker by Carlos Whittaker. This book stirred me. Not necessarily by anything that was new (content speaking) in the book but more about the transparency and passion that Carlos wrote with. From the moment that the book started until the amazing wrap up, Carlos had me. It has been a long time since a book moved me with enough emotion to cry, but this book got me so many times. Touche’ Los!

My favorite story told in this book, and no, I will not spoil it for you, is a story about Danny. The story alone made me wrestle with god about who truly gets God’s love. I have always been someone who seemed to love everyone but this story challenged my compassion. I’ve been bothered by strangers too but I too, have had some strangers make profound impacts on me also. “ONE JAH”!!!

I don’t want to overhype this book for you theological types out there. You won’t find a commentary on the Book of 3rd John about the dealings of Diotrophes, but instead, you will be confronted with honest and vulnerable tales that should help move you towards living a life where making moments is more important that just watching moments. It should inspire you to create exciting new adventures that will allow you to enlarge your own story, all the while, enlarging the stories of the people that come in contact with you.True Gospel living! Well done Carlos.

I give this book a 5 out of 5 stars

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

