Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me (a book review)

41I0PLduuCL

I was offered the chance to review Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me by Ian Cron , via http://www.booksneeze.com. By the title alone, I really thought this would be an interesting read filled with mystery, intrigue, background insights into a possible spy ring and how God played into the family’s existence. But what I didn’t notice early on, and I should have from the front end, is the subtitle to the book….”a memoir of sorts”. This really threw me off due to the fact that throughout the book, I couldn’t tell what was reality and what was , as Cron puts it, “autobiographical fiction”.  I sometimes was thinking a story was real, but as the story went on, it was evident that it was part of the fictional mode.

On the positive side, Cron is a talented writer, who spins a nice tale. And more importantly, he tells his story with an unparalleled heart. His passion for the story made me want to keep reading. I could picture Ian telling me these stories over a cup of coffee or a nice glass of scotch.

I would rate this book on a scale of 5, a 3.9.  Written well enough to keep my attention in spite of it’s confusing premise. (I feel bad for the expectation but needless to say, it is honest)

 

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

