Neighbors and Wise Men by Tony Kriz

Tony-Kriz-CoverWhen I first received the book, Neighbors and Wise Men, I immediately thought that this would be a great read. I love the idea of the word neighbors, but unfortunately in our world, we don’t often know what a true neighbor is. THEN, I find out that Tony Kriz is “Tony the Beat Poet from Donald Miller’s book, Blue Like Jazz. This made me “doubly” excited.

So onto the book, Kriz’s ability to mold everyday conversations about people’s “normal” encounters with God was refreshing. He has a certain way, just like Miller, of taking the extraordinary happenings in the world and make it very ordinary; which I like.

There was a little left to be desired with his story telling of overseas things, but that may just be a heart issue with me and not the actual ingredients and delivery of the information.

I know one thing for sure, Tony proved once again (and I am sure this was one of his intentions) that God can and will use anyone at anything to make Himself known.

Spoiler alert—Tony’s story of Dr. john Perkins speaking at Reed College gave me goosebumps and also brought tears to my eyes.

I give this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Leave a Reply

