Going Deep by Gordon MacDonald

ImageI started following and reading Gordon MacDonald a number of years ago and I have ALWAYS loved his writings. This time is no different. I thoroughly loved this book.

Going Deep re-visits Pastor Gordon MacDonald’s fictional congregation in his book, Who Stole My Church. MacDonald says early in the book, “We seem to know how to get unchurched people to visit our buildings. We even seem to know how to draw them across the line into a declaration of personal faith in Jesus. But what we do not seem to know is how to cultivate spiritually deep people. Tomorrow’s church could be headed for trouble.” This is where my heart has been for awhile and this book seemed to put a twist on my thought that made me feel like there was light at the end of the tunnell.

Going Deep offers a detailed plan of helping churches cultivate people of depth–spiritually mature Christians that truly desire to make a difference for Christ with their lives, that will help grow the church. This book is full of great ideas and inspiration to help churches do just that. I found that the idea of writing fictionally, and including some stories that wouldn’t work out perfectly was a good mix in writing.

This was a super easy read and I think that most people would enjoy it, for it’s content, if not for the story.

I highly recommend this fun, insightful and creative read.

I give it a 5 out of 5.

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

