Father’s Day

A few weeks ago, I had the opportunity to play in a golf tournament courtesy of my main man, Daniel McCollum. It was a really fun day and on hole #7, we hear a pair of golf carts coming down the path towards our green and as we looked closer we saw that on that cart was golf legend, Fuzzy Zoeller. Fuzzy made his way to the green while we finished out the hole. In fact, he stood a few steps away from me while I had the opportunity to sink a 9 foot putt and with ice water in my veins, I SANK IT! He then posed for a picture with us. And as we were taking the picture, it clicked into my mind that my father’s favorite golfer in the 80’s was Fuzzy.

My father passed away when I was 18. That day hurt me alot, and honestly, 19 years later, it still hurts sometimes. But today is not about pain, it is about hope, love, and dedication.

My dad did what he had to do for us. He fought through tough economic times in a tough economic area and always seemed to provide in the best way he could. Even when my mom asked him to leave in the 4th grade, he still showed up around the house on a weekly basis, he still showed up with a smile. Being a once divorced person, I know how tough that is seeing your children in an environment that does not include you and sometimes that can be bothersome. But needless to say, my dad fought through all of that to see us.

Paul Larry Grammatico was raised by a father who was a tool and die maker and thus became a tool and die maker himself. Being a contracted company for GM, Buick, Oldsmobile and Cadillac would seem like it would make a pretty good living but alas, the rigors and disease of alcoholism forced my father into some poor decision making. And again, he raised up out of all of that to love us. Most people from the outside may not have always seen my fathers love but his love helped me to better realize what it means to be a father. So with that being said, this blog is a dedication and a Happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there. Keep going, keep loving, keep teaching, keep motivating, and keep fathering. It”s a job that NEVER stops!

One thought on “Father’s Day

Leave a Reply

