REVIEW- Start: A Bible for New Believers

As a former youth minister, I am always on the lookout for rewording of Scripture in a way that a new believer would be encouraged and challenged at the same time.

Here the text (translation) is that of the New King James version. This was kind of a disappointment in that the language can often be mistaken for different meaning and contextually offer a big hill to climb for the new Christ follower. But, what this Bible lacks in the language choice it greatly makes up for in its helps to the new believer.

The beginning pages are laced with typical, evangelical rhetoric that I wonder can be a hindrance to the new person. But if that is the angle or slant that you are gunning for, then this will be wonderful for your discipleship.

I love the beginning of each book, beginning with a definition and in depth description / background of each book. Very insightful. Also the know, grow, live, and learn inserts are a great benefit to those who wonder what to do with all of this.

On a whole, I would give this version of Scripture a thumbs up. Good for young and old people who are interested in beginning their journey with a solid foundation.

You know what, it is always interesting, reviewing a Bible. I mean, can I really not give it a 5 out of 5 stars. But in this case, I am reviewing the aiding comments, tools, and helps. So, I am happy to say this is a 4 out of 5!

Disclosure of Material Connection: Thomas Nelson Publishers sent me a free copy of this book as part of their bloggers book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

