Same Kind of Different As Me

Well, I just got my world rocked. I read the book Same Kind of Different As Me by Ron Hall and Denver Moore. And the next thing you know, I am blown away to a whole new level of humility and a new, fresh desire to love on my homeless neighbors.

This story tells the tale of a families ups and downs as they learn to get out of suburbia and reach into area where love is not often found. The often heart-wrenching stories often told by both Ron, a wealthy white man, and Denver, a homeless man who is becoming a dear friend and confidant to the family, and their lives couldn’t be anymoe different. The crazy thing is that the stories tended to lend more to Ron learning than it did to Denver learning. Funny how we seem to have things backwards sometimes huh?

One thing I truly love about this book is the sequencing of the writing and chapters. It made the story more impactful and relevant as I could folllow the words of Ron and Denver in alternating rhythms. This book showed me , that although I thought I had a grasp on loving everyone, I still had some room to grow. I would give this book a 20 out of 10. It IS that good!

So please buy it, then GO and lend a hand and your heart to people who just need some friends and encouragement.

Disclosure of Material Connection: Thomas Nelson Publishers sent me a free copy of this book as part of their bloggers book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

