Review – Jesus Manifesto by Sweet and Viola

In a time in my life where I have been a bit frustrated with the church, where I have been looking for a slight nudge to continue on in the right direction, where I have been contemplating the tension between the Gospel OF Jesus and the Gospel ABOUT Jesus, finally,someone delivers.
One area that this book really pushed me in was in the idea of social justice. My take on it was that we are not to just bring Jesus along for the ride but He is the reason for what we do. Really smacked me upside the head hard!
But in a time when the church is becoming a self medicating, self help, smiles only, kind of world; it is refreshing to be reminded and jarred back to remembering why and how we do this whole Jesus thing.
This book has sparked many conversations outside of the reading , not only in my own life and mind, but more importantly, the conversation has spilled over into dialogue with other people.
With the conclusion of this review, I really want to thank Frank and Len for writing this book and my prayer is that it sparks more questions and dialogue, and more importantly, change.
Their writing style is simple yet complex. There are laces of humor, incredible fresh Biblical insights, and great stories, all rolled into one. This book is a must buy.
Hands down a 5 out of 5.

Disclosure of Material Connection: Thomas Nelson Publishers sent me a free copy of this book as part of their bloggers book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

