An Apology to Eugene Cho, Soong Chan Rah and anyone else offended

iamsorryYesterday on Professor Rah’s blog, I made some insensitive comments about Asian culture cncerning the debate of Mike Foster and Jud Wilhite’s Deadly Viper Character Assassins book and ministry. Nothing that was intentional, but it offended none the less. And as I read in Shaun King’s Blog and Eugene Cho’s blog this morning, if you offend someone , you say sorry with no excuses and change your way. So I am here to say I apologize for my remarks. I did not want to hurt the feelings of Asian Americans or disgrace their culture in any way. I had no intention to hurt but if it was done, please accept my apology and forgive me.

But what I have taken from all of this is that I have some things that need to change about my thinkings on other cultures. I don’t know what it is like to be made fun of, insulted, or harmed for my ethnicity or heritage. So read this, and HEAR ME LOUD..I am sorry and I hope that we can keep this dialogue going that will bring healing , restoration, and reconciliation.

 

(BTW….the Chinese characters used above were what I found on ask.com. I know that not all Asian Americans are Chinese but this is my attempt to apologize. It is the only resource that i have. It says that it means, I am sorry. If it does not then I am still sorry.)

9 thoughts on “An Apology to Eugene Cho, Soong Chan Rah and anyone else offended

  1. hey man, i read your comment the other day but thank you for owning up and admitting you’re wrong. it takes a lot to admit wrong. believe me i’m as stubborn as they come.

    those are the three characters for i am sorry haha. nothing wrong there. the first word is simplified, which i can’t read so i had to look online a bit too.

    “But what I have taken from all of this is that I have some things that need to change about my thinkings on other cultures. I don’t know what it is like to be made fun of, insulted, or harmed for my ethnicity or heritage.”

    this is definitely a big step for you. i had this awakening too a few years ago when i took a psychology of racism class and started attending asian american events on campus. i grew up in white suburbia and felt i had the privilege of all my other caucasian friends.

    it wasn’t until living overseas for 5 years that humbled me, and 2 more years after that when i learned about white privilege, or discrimination that i was completely blind to. that forever changed my thinking, and God really helped me through the process to reconcile the way i was before and my self-hatred for being asian at times. yes, i subliminally hated the fact that i was asian for as long as i could remember. it took a lot of healing.

    sorry for the long comment haha. i pray that you engage with God and wrestle with this. oh yeah, apology accepted. 😛

  2. Ryan, I do hope that my comments weren’t too strident or brusque. Things like this are often somewhat hard to explain, and words are sometimes inconvenient when sharing experiences.

    As for myself, you have little need to apologize, since I harbor no anger or ill will towards you; so long as you understand where I’m coming from, where many of us are coming from, I’m fine.

    And that’s all I ask. A bit of understanding.

    1. Soong-Chan,
      Thank you for your willingness to dialogue to bring injustice to light and to help this move forward in a positive light.

Leave a Reply

