Pride

lions

lionsHere it is, Ford Field, home of THEEEE Detroit Lions! Yes, THAT Detroit Lions. You know, the team that went 0-16 in 2008 and as of this afternoon, has lost 18 straight games. It is a team mired in less than mediocrity, one drizzled with failure, an organization that puts the fun in dysfunction. A team that’s former GM once drafted 3 wide recievers in 3 staright drafts with their first round pick. A team that allows their quarterback to spend more time on their backs than even the most employed females of Amsterdam.

So what could the problem be with this institution of football futility. Well, I believe the major problem is attitude. I believe that from the owner , to the players, all the way down to the ballboys, that this team does not have the attitude of winning. There is no atmosphere of victory at any time.

lions2

They have the personnel, the money, and the backing of the community but they are lacking the one thing that embodies a winner and that is belief that they can win.

Well, in this season, in a time of reflection and self assessment, I seem to be a Detroit Lion. I am struggling with believing in myself. Through many battles with failure throughout my life and more emphatically, an inability to release that failure has left me, at times, in a funk. This funk has created the sense that I cannot win. Alot of the time, I feel like Chris Martin of Coldplay is singing the words of God to me in the song “Fix You”. Check them out:

When you try your best, but you don’t succeed
When you get what you want, but not what you need
When you feel so tired, but you can’t sleep
Stuck in reverse

And the tears come streaming down your face
When you lose something you can’t replace
When you love someone, but it goes to waste
Could it be worse?

Lights will guide you home
And ignite your bones
And I will try to fix you

I didn’t write this to just boo-hoo and whimper but I wrote this as a reminder to me that God has set me up high and does not intend me to fail. In fact, check this out:

Romans 8:37-

ISV- In all these things we are triumphantly victorious due to the one who loved us.

NIV-No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.

Did you catch that? Read those again. Do you see it now? We are MORE than conquerors, we are TRIUMPHANTLY victorious! God is so solid that he does not just leave us to win, but He leaves us to win BIG!! I have always found it incredible that God is so powerful and loves and cares for us so much that He is not content with just letting us win.

So forgive the rant of losing, it was all for the sake of venting. But this is me. Some days, i just need a good self motivation.

stuart-smalley-743745

Leave a Reply

